Exploding Garrmondo Weiner Interactive Swiss Army Penis

Exploding Garrmondo Weiner Interactive Swiss Army Penis (http://www.gamingforce.org/forums/index.php)
-   Help Desk (http://www.gamingforce.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   I can't access the drive (http://www.gamingforce.org/forums/showthread.php?t=39827)

jimmyray Feb 5, 2010 08:01 AM

I can't access the drive

Hi,
I have a 500GB Western Digital usb mass storage device with lots of data on it, and I have been using it without problems for several months. Now when I plug it in, the drive comes up in my computer as drive E as it usually does, but when I click it it asks me if I want to format it-when I click "no" I can't access the drive. If I format it again won't I lose all my files? The drive properties show 0kb for free space and 0kb for used space. What happened to the 300+ GB of files I stored on the drive? Is there another way to access the data on the drive?
Thanks in advance

Soluzar Feb 5, 2010 08:24 AM

If you format you will lose everything. However you might have already lost everything. If Windows can't see your data, then it seems like something bad has already happened. Any chance you can whip the drive out of the enclosure and try connecting it internally? If the USB enclosure is the problem, that would at least let you get your data back.

I presume you already tried it with another PC. If not, then that's your first step. Definitely don't choose to format the drive, until you're sure your data can't be recovered. I hope it wasn't anything irreplaceable.

Zergrinch Feb 5, 2010 08:27 AM

Did you buy it as an external hard disk, or did you buy it as an internal drive and then placed it into an enclosure?

It might be possible to recover the latter, but I have never tried to recover data from an external. If you disassemble it, you run the risk of invalidating your warranty...